Lagoon Coalition has a new president


Date 1/16/2020
Contact: Fred Mays


Vince Lamb, 75, of Merritt Island, has been elected President of the Brevard Indian River
Lagoon Coalition. He replaces Marilyn (MJ) Waters, who steps down after three years as
Coalition President.

Mr. Lamb has lived in Brevard County for over 40 years. In 2016 he was one of the original
founders of the Save Our Lagoon political action committee that pushed for voter approval of
the half-cent sales tax to raise money to combat pollution in the Indian River Lagoon. That
effort passed with 62% voter approval, and was approved in every voter precinct in Brevard

Vince is a certified Florida Master Naturalist.

Since retiring over 10 years ago, Vince is active in many environmental organizations, both in
Brevard County and statewide. Vince serves as a board member of the St Johns Riverkeeper, a
member of Management Board for the Indian River Lagoon National Estuary Program and a
board member for the Friends of the Carr Refuge. In January 2019, he joined the board of the
Brevard Zoo and serves on the planning task force for The Aquarium Project.

He became an active volunteer for Native Plants, Florida Scrub Jays, Red Cockaded
Woodpeckers and Sea Turtles. He served as Chair of the Florida Wildflower Foundation for
two years, starting in 2013, and has served on an advisory committee for the Environmentally
Endangered Lands Program for more than ten years.

His passions and hobbies are kayaking, cycling, nature photography, and eco-travel.

Other 2020 officers for BIRLC: Bo Platt- Vice President, Rick Wagner- Secretary and Dave
Carbone- Treasurer.